Adventures of the Third Trimester

Holy crap, we just celebrated our bun in the oven with a baby shower–a baby shower for us. And it was a blast. We asked for and got a co-ed pig roast without the traditional baby shower games or requisite gift opening in front of everyone. We brought Scout and her triplet doelings (yes, she kidded three gorgeous little girls), and they were a hit with the human kids and adults.

IMG_2338

The men got their horseshoe pit, beer, and Cuban cigars. We really couldn’t have asked for more.

So, we just had our baby shower, just a day before 34 weeks and just about the time our first baby would have turned 1 year old. (Happy birthday, little girl.) The baby in me is alive and kicking, and of course, we love it already. (I can’t wait to meet you, baby.)

The “golden-ness” of my second trimester faded a bit early, and I started feeling the discomforts of the third trimester a week or two before it officially started. I have no great suggestions for heartburn, pregnancy insomnia, or hemorrhoids…save for a few ways I’ve been keeping myself busy and distracted.

The Brazilian Bikini Wax

Yes, ladies…since I’m planning on going without an epidural, I figured I start preparing myself for pain. And painful it was. The last time I got waxed down there was over 10 years ago when I was living in New York, and it was all the rage in NYC during the heyday of Sex and the City. They say that it hurts less if you wax regularly. That, in addition to being 30 weeks pregnant at the time, definitely qualifies as a third trimester adventure, don’t you think? The ordeal lasted oh about 30 minutes, and I enjoy the feeling of having been waxed now more than I cared for it my first time. I plan to do it again a week or two before I’m due. (Yay! :p)

Third Trimester Travel

The Brazilian preceded our trip back to Hawaii for our last getaway before becoming parents. (There was no way I could wear a bikini without some drastic grooming down there.) It would have been awesome to go during the second trimester when I was feeling more energized and less uncomfortable, but tickets were just more than I wanted to spend at the time.

The six-hour flight was made more comfortable with compression socks and snacks prepared from home. We brought small soft pretzel sandwiches with Boursin cheese and garden cucumber slices, apples and cheese, and chocolate and hazelnuts. On the flight back home, we brought spam musubi, my mom’s leftover spring rolls, fresh pineapple, and few langue de chat cookies. I got up every hour or so, per my OB’s instruction, and walked down the aisle or went to the loo to get some circulation going.

I was exhausted the first couple of days of the trip and started regretting not going during the second trimester, but Sean was patient with me and we just took it easy. We went on one easy hike (Makapu’u Lighthouse) during the trip and otherwise just chilled, hung out with my parents, met up with old friends, or went to the beach. Beach chairs are a must as laying on the beach with a 30-some week belly is ultra-uncomfortable. Being in the water, however, was a dream and so much fun. I can’t wait to bring our baby out in an otteroo.

Deciding on a Water Birth

After hearing about our friends’ birthing experience at a birth center, we made a rather quick (quick because we were near the cut-off time for the center) decision to switch our care over from our OB to the same birth center with certified nurse midwives for a water birth. My OB was quick, efficient, and very competent, but we both want our birthing experience to be more intimate and less clinical. Aside from my being over 35, there would be no other reason to label my pregnancy as high-risk. There is a set of criteria that determines whether we’d have to give birth at the hospital, and in the case of an emergency, the bed-to-bed transfer is about 7 minutes. There is a good chance Sean will be able to “catch,” and we’ll be able to bond as a family from the moment the baby is born as long as everything goes smoothly. There is less of a chance that one intervention would lead to a chain of interventions that might lead to a C-section or episiostomy. I’ve read Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, and if my mom could do it and my goats could to it, I believe my body will allow me to give birth naturally. In contrast to feeling like something was wrong with my body and woman-ness during the years of infertility, I feel quite empowered saying that…and I’m so grateful to feel that way now.

IMG_2379

3 responses to “Adventures of the Third Trimester

  1. I’m so happy to read you are pregnant. I will be making my first batch of black silky chicken soup tomorrow! I have made bone broth for years but this is a whole new level!

    I had my son at home with midwives, you will have such a wonderful experience. And I love Ina May’s book!

    Blessings to you and yours

    • Oh, wonderful! Did you give birth recently?

      This post is an old one. I should start writing again. 😉

      I had my son with midwives as well. So glad we went that route. We fall in love with him more and more everyday.

      Enjoy the nourishing soup!

  2. Well, he’ll be 2 in April so not very recently! My husband and I would like another baby and it’s been more difficult this time around. I read about the ancient Chinese soup so I decided to try it. I’m taking nutritional/herbal supplements and eating a healthy fertility diet and somehow I came across this soup! It was pretty tasty, I need to make another batch.

    I would love to see an updated post 😃

Leave a Reply

