Around the World Recipe Series

Kitchen-Talks-Ethnic-Cuisines

(Photo Credit: http://kitchentalks.com/cooking/healthiest-ethnic-cuisines-world/)

As I mentioned in my last blog post, we travel around the world in the foods we eat at home. I was raised eating mostly home cooked Chinese-Vietnamese meals and wasn’t introduced to other worldly cuisines until I went to college. I dated a particularly sophisticated Japanese-American guy at Harvard who exposed me to some of the finer things in life, like sushi and my first French Kiss–an armagnac-soaked prune filled with foie gras mousse. My circle of friends also included many Indians, so I became familiar with tandoori chicken, saag paneer, lassis, and ras malai. After living in Manhattan, Astoria, and Elmhurst in New York, my food world opened up to include xiao long bao (soup dumplings), Greek food, and so many other wonderful cuisines. And, of course, returning to Hawaii to go to culinary school and finally experience all the Asian-Pacific foods offered there–it’s no wonder I can crave a fish taco one day, beef bulgogi another and uni pasta, yet another. My Around the World posts feature my attempts at authentic and inspired dishes from…around the world. If you have tips (especially any passed down through generations) or memories of personal food experiences, please do share.

Recipes:

Simmered Hamachi with Daikon

Sopa de Ajo

Leave a Reply

